Nobel Prize announcements – not long now!

The Nobel Prize Announcements are on the horizon and we wait with baited breath to see who will be awarded the Nobel Prize in Chemistry on Wednesday 7th October 2020.

This prestigious award has been presented 111 times to 184 Nobel Laureates between 1901 and 2019. The only person to have been awarded the Nobel Prize in Chemistry twice is Frederick Sanger, a British biochemist, for his work on the structure of proteins, especially that of insulin, in 1958 and then again in 1980 for his work with Walter Gilbert in the determination of base sequences in nucleic acids.

Below is an image of just some of the prize winners in Chemistry. Venkatraman Ramakrishnan, Frances Arnold, John Goodenough, Ernest Rutherford, Dorothy Crowfoot Hodgkin, Akira Suzuki, Marie Skłodowska Curie, Ahmed Zewail.

Previous Nobel Prize winners

(thanks to @nobelprize on Twitter)

Who do you think will be joining them in 2020 and from what area of interest? Bets are on!

Blog written by Dr Kerry Elgie